CORPORATE GOVERNANCE PRACTICE

The Board of Directors (the “Board”) of IRC is committed to promoting good corporate governance to safeguard the interests of the shareholders and to enhance the Group’s performance. The Group believes that conducting its businesses in an open and responsible manner and following good corporate governance practices serve its long-term interests and those of its shareholders.

The Board as a whole is responsible for performing the corporate governance duties and ensuring compliance with the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the “Stock Exchange”) (the “Listing Rules”). The Board reviews at least annually the corporate governance practices of the Company to ensure its continuous compliance with the Corporate Governance Code (the “CG Code”) as stated in Appendix 14 to the Listing Rules, and make appropriate changes if considered necessary.

 

Board of Directors

The Board provides leadership and supervises the overall direction of the Group’s businesses.

As at 31 December 2019, the Board comprised of nine Directors with two Executive Directors and seven Non-Executive Directors, of which five of them – representing more than half of the Board – are Independent Non-Executive Directors. The number of Independent Non-Executive Directors meets the requirements under Rule 3.10(A) of the Listing Rules. Each of the Independent Non-Executive Directors has made an annual confirmation of independence pursuant to Rule 3.13 of the Listing Rules. The Non-Executive Directors (including the Independent Non-Executive Directors) are appointed for a specific term not exceeding three years and are subject to retirement by rotation. Daniel Rochfort Bradshaw, Jonathan Eric Martin Smith and Chuang-fei Li have served as Independent Non-executive Directors of the Company for more than 9 years. During the years of appointment, they have demonstrated their abilities to provide an independent view to the Company’s matters. Notwithstanding their years of service as Independent Non-Executive Directors of the Company, the Nomination Committee and the Board are of the view that they are able to continue to fulfill their role as required. Independent Non-Executive Directors are identified as such in all corporate communications containing the names of the Directors. An updated list of the directors identifying the Independent Non-Executive Directors and the roles and functions of the directors is maintained on the websites of the Company and the Stock Exchange. The roles of the chairman and the chief executive are separated and are performed by Peter Hambro and Yury Makarov, respectively.

The current composition of the Board is characterized by significant diversity in terms of nationality, age, professional background and skills.

The Board believes that the balance between Executive and Non-Executive Directors is reasonable and adequate to provide sufficient checks and balances that safeguard the interests of shareholders and the Group. The Non-Executive Directors provide the Group with diverse expertise and experience. Their views and participation in Board and committee meetings bring independent judgement and advice on issues relating to the Group’s strategies, performance, conflicts of interest and management process, ensuring that the interests of all shareholders are taken into account. Two of the Independent Non-Executive Directors possess the appropriate professional accounting qualifications or related financial management expertise as required under the Listing Rules.

The Group provides briefings and other training to develop and refresh the directors’ knowledge and skills. The Group, together with its legal counsel and external auditors, continuously update directors on the latest developments regarding the Listing Rules and other applicable regulatory requirements, to ensure compliance and enhance their awareness of good corporate governance practices.

During the year, the Company organised a formal training session for the directors of the Company. The training session covered topics including updates on Listing Rules and the corporate governance environment.

The Board meets regularly to review the Group’s operational performance, financial statements, material investments in new projects, dividend policy, major financings, treasury policies and changes in accounting policies. All directors have access to board papers and related materials which are provided in a timely manner, and are able to include matters in the agenda for board meetings. For the year ended 31 December 2019, the Chairman of the Company held a number of meetings with the Non-Executive Directors (including the Independent Non-Executive Directors) without the presence of the Executive Directors.

The Company Secretary supports the Chairman, the Board and the Board Committees by ensuring good information flow and that the policies and procedures of the Board are followed. The Company Secretary advises the Board on governance matters and facilitates the induction and professional development of Directors. The Company Secretary is an employee of the Company and is appointed by the Board. All Directors may call upon the Company Secretary for advice and assistance at any time in respect to their duties and the effective operation of the Board and Board Committees. The Company Secretary also plays an essential role in the relationship between the Company and its shareholders, including assisting the Board in discharging its obligations to shareholders pursuant to the Listing Rules.

The day-to-day management and operation of the Group are delegated to the Executive Committee (“EC”), which comprises the Executive Directors, the Company Secretary and other senior management members of the Group. The EC is the principal management decision making body on all day-to-day operations and business affairs of the Group. The EC operates under guidelines and delegated authorities from the Board and meets on a regular basis.

For more details, please refer to the Company's 2019 Annual Report, page 58 to 72.

 

Terms of Reference of the Remuneration Committee

Download

 

Terms of Reference of the Nomination Committee

Download

 

Terms of Reference of the Audit Committee

Download

 

Terms of Reference of the Health, Safety & Environment Committee

Download

 

List of Directors and their Role and Function

Download

 

Directors of Subsidiaries

Download

 

Articles of Association

Download

 

Shareholders’ Rights

Subject to applicable legislation and regulations, including the Companies Ordinance (Chapter 622 of the Laws of Hong Kong), and the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules"), and the Articles of Association of the Company as amended from time to time, the shareholders of the Company may put forward proposals at a general meeting and convene general meetings in accordance with the following procedures:

1. Procedures for putting forward proposals at the annual general meeting ("AGM")
Requirements
The following persons (the "requisitionists") are entitled to put forward a proposal (which may properly be put to the meeting) for consideration by the shareholders at AGM:

Shareholder(s) representing at least 2.5% of the total voting rights of all shareholders at the date of the requisition having the right to vote on that resolution at the AGM; OR At least 50 shareholders at the date of the requisition having the right to vote on that resolution at the AGM.

Procedures
The written request must state the resolution, accompanied by a statement of not more than 1,000 words with respect to the matter referred to in any proposed resolution or the business to be dealt with at that meeting, signed by the requisitionists (or 2 or more copies which between then contain the signatures of all the requisitionists).

The written request must be deposited at 6H, 9 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong, the registered office of the Company, for the attention of Company Secretary not less than 6 weeks before the AGM to which the request relates; or if later, the time at which notice is given of the AGM.

The request will be verified with the Company's share registrar and upon their confirmation that the written request is proper and in order, the Company Secretary will report back the request to the Board of Directors to include the resolution in the agenda for the AGM. If the written request has been verified as not in order, the requisitionists will be advised of this outcome and accordingly, the proposed resolution will not be included in the agenda for the AGM.

The expenses of circulating members’ statements relating to the proposed resolutions or other business to be dealt with at AGM will be borne by the Company, if such requisitions are received in time for sending with the notice of the meeting. Otherwise, the expenses will be paid by the requisitionist(s) concerned. The requisitionists should deposit or tender, not later than 7 days before the AGM, a sum reasonably sufficient to meet the Company’s expenses in complying with such request.

2. Procedures for Shareholders to propose a person for election as a Director
If a shareholder wishes to propose a person other than a Director of the Company (the “Director”) for election as a Director, the shareholder must deposit a written notice (the “Notice”) to the principal place of business of the Company in Hong Kong at: 6H, 9 Queen’s Road Central, Central District, Hong Kong or the branch share registrar of the Company: Tricor Investor Services Limited, at Level 54, Hopewell Centre, 183 Queen’s Road East, Hong Kong for the attention of the Company Secretary.

The Notice must state clearly the name of the shareholder and his/her/their shareholding, the full name of the person proposed for election as a Director, including the person’s biographical details as required by Rule 13.51(2) of the Listing Rules, and be signed by the Shareholder concerned (other than the person to be proposed). The Notice must also be accompanied by a letter of consent signed by the person proposed to be elected on his/her willingness to be elected as a Director.

The period for lodgement of the Notice will commence no earlier than the day after the despatch of the notice by the Company of the general meeting appointed for election of Directors of the Company and end no later than 7 days prior to the date of such general meeting. If the Notice is received less than 15 days prior to the general meeting, the Company will need to consider the adjournment of the general meeting in order to give shareholders 14 days' notice of the proposal.

The Notice will be verified with the Company's branch share registrar and upon their confirmation that the request is proper and in order. The Company Secretary of the Company will ask the nomination committee of the Company and the Board of Directors of the Company to consider including the resolution in the agenda for the general meeting proposing such person to be elected as a Director.

3. Procedures for convening a general meeting ("GM") by Shareholders
Requirements
Shareholder(s) representing at least 5% of the total voting rights of all the shareholders having the right to vote at GM may request the Company to convene a GM by depositing a written request to 6H, 9 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong, the registered office of the Company, for the attention of Company Secretary.

Procedures
The written request:
- must state the general nature of the business to be dealt with at the meeting;

- may include the text of a resolution that may properly be moved and is intended to be moved at the meeting;

- must be signed by the requisitionists and may consist of several documents in like form, each signed by one or more requisitionists.

The request will be verified with the Company's share registrar and upon their confirmation that the written request is proper and in order, the Company Secretary will ask the Board of Directors to convene a GM by serving sufficient notice in accordance with the statutory requirements to all the registered shareholders. On the contrary, if the written request has been verified as not in order, the requisitionists will be advised of this outcome and accordingly, a GM will not be convened as requested.

Where, within 21 days of the deposit of the requisition, the Directors of the Company do not proceed duly to convene a GM for a day not more than 28 days after the date on which the notice convening the GM is given, the requisitionists, or any of them representing more than one-half of the total voting rights of all of them, may themselves convene a meeting, but any meeting so convened shall not be held after the expiration of 3 months from the date of the original requisition.

Notice Periods
The notice period to be given to all registered shareholders for consideration of the proposal raised by the requisitionists at a GM, as follows:

14 clear days' or 10 clear business days' notice in writing, whichever is the longer. The 10 business days requirement would not be potentially applicable if the nomination is received after the notice of meeting has been issued; which wouldn't be the case in the scenario we are looking at.

Additionally, the Company needs to be given at least 28 days' notice in writing of the intention to move a resolution which requires the serving of special notice under the Companies Ordinance.

4. Contact Details
Shareholders may send their enquiries and concerns to the Company through the Company Secretary by writing to the following address:

Company Secretary
IRC Limited
6H, 9 Queen’s Road Central,
Hong Kong

The Company Secretary will forward the communications to the appropriate party or executive.

企業管治常規

鐵江現貨的董事會(「董事會」)致力維持良好的企業管治以保障股東的利益以及提升本集團的表現。本集團堅信,憑著開明及盡責的態度經營業務及奉行良好的企業管治常規,可為本集團及其股東帶來長遠利益。

董事會整體負責執行企業管治職責並確保遵守香港聯合交易所有限公司(「聯交所」)證券上市規則(「上市規則」)。董事會最少每年就本公司的企業管治常規作出檢討,以確保持續遵守上市規則附錄14所載企業管治守則(「企業管治守則」),並於認為有需要時作出適當變動。

 

董事會

董事會負責領導及監察本集團整體業務方向。

於2019年12月31日,董事會由共九名董事(兩名執行董事及七名非執行董事)組成,其中五名董事(佔董事會一半以上)為獨立非執行董事。獨立非執行董事的人數符合上市規則第3.10(A)條項下的規定。各獨立非執行董事已根據上市規則第3.13條發出年度獨立性確認書。非執行董事(包括獨立非執行董事)獲委任特定年期(不超過三年)及須輪席退任。白丹尼、Jonathan Eric Martin Smith及李壯飛已擔任本公司獨立非執行董事超過9年。彼等在任期間展現對本公司事宜提供獨立意見的能力。儘管彼等已擔任本公司獨立非執行董事多年,惟提名委員會及董事會認為彼等能夠根據規定持續履行彼等的職責。本公司在所有載有董事姓名的公司通訊中,已明確說明獨立非執行董事的身份。本公司及聯交所網站提供最新的董事名單,註明獨立非執行董事身份及列明董事角色和職能。主席及首席執行官的角色有所區分,分別由Peter Hambro及馬嘉譽擔任。

當前董事會組成具有國籍、年齡、專業背景及技能截然不同的特點。

董事會相信,執行與非執行董事的比例合理及適當,可充分發揮制衡作用,以保障股東及本集團的利益。非執行董事為本集團帶來多元化的專業知識及經驗。彼等透過提出意見及參與董事會及委員會會議,就有關本集團的策略、表現、利益衝突及管理程序等事宜提供獨立判斷及意見,確保顧及全體股東利益。其中兩名獨立非執行董事具備上市規則所規定的適當專業會計資格或相關財務管理專業知識。

本集團提供簡介會及其他培訓,以發展及更新董事的知識及技能。本集團連同其法律顧問及外聘核數師持續向董事提供有關上市規則及其他適用監管規定的最新發展概況,以確保董事遵守該等規定及提高彼等有關良好企業管治常規的意識。

年內,本公司為其董事舉辦正式培訓,培訓內容涵蓋多個主題,包括有關上市規則及企業管治環境的最新資料。

董事會定期舉行會議,以檢討本集團的營運表現、財務報表、新項目的重大投資、股息政策、重要融資、庫存政策和會計政策變動。全體董事適時獲提供董事會文件及有關文件,確保彼等能將事宜加入董事會會議的議程。截至2019年12月31日止年度,本公司主席於執行董事不在場的情況下,與非執行董事(包括獨立非執行董事)舉行數次會議。

公司秘書負責確保良好的資訊流通以支援主席、董事會及董事委員會,使董事會政策及程序得以遵循。公司秘書就管治事宜向董事會提供意見,並協助董事的就職及專業發展。公司秘書乃本公司僱員,由董事會委任。所有董事均可就其職務以及為董事會及董事委員會的有效運作隨時向公司秘書尋求意見及協助。公司秘書亦在本公司與其股東的關係上扮演重要角色,包括根據上市規則協助董事會履行對股東的責任。

本集團的日常管理及運作交由執行委員會(「執行委員會」)負責。執行委員會由執行董事、公司秘書及本集團其他高級管理層成員組成。執行委員會為本集團所有日常運作及業務事宜的主要管理決策組織。執行委員會根據由董事會授予的指引及職權運作,並會定期舉行會議。

有關詳情,請參閱本公司的2019年年度報告第58至72頁。

 

薪酬委員會職權範圍

下載

 

提名委員會的職權範圍

下載

 

審核委員會職權範圍

下載

 

健康、安全及環境委員會職權範圍

下載

 

董事名單與其角色和職能

下載

 

子公司董事名单

下載

 

組織章程細則

下載

 

股東權利

根據適用法例及規例(包括香港法例第622章公司條例)、香港聯合交易所有限公司證券上市規則(「上市規則」)以及本公司經不時修訂的組織章程細則,本公司股東可按照下列程序於股東大會上提呈提議及召開股東大會:

1. 於股東週年大會(「股東週年大會」)提呈提議的程序
規定
下列人士(「請求者」)有權提呈提議(可於大會正式提呈),以供股東於股東週年大會上考慮:

於提議日期有權於股東週年大會上就該決議案投票持有全體股東總投票權至少2.5%的股東;或
至少50名於提議日期有權於股東週年大會上就該決議案投票的股東。
程序
書面要求須註明決議案,連同字數不多於1,000字的陳述書,內容有關任何提呈提議所述事宜或其他有待在該大會上處理的事務,並經請求者簽署(或2份或以上當中載有所有請求者簽署的副本)。
書面要求須於要求相關股東週年大會前不少於六個星期(或如屬較後者)發出該股東週年大會通告之時送交本公司的註冊辦事處,地址為香港皇后大道中9號6樓H室,註明收件人為公司秘書。
該要求將於本公司股份過戶登記處進行核實,而於確認書面要求為適當及符合程序時,公司秘書將向董事會匯報,要求將決議案納入股東週年大會議程。倘書面要求經核實為不符合程序,則請求者將獲告知該結果,亦因此提呈決議案不會納入股東週年大會議程。
倘有關要求於大會通告寄出前適時接獲,則傳閱所提呈決議案或其他有待在股東週年大會上處理的事務相關股東陳述書的費用將由本公司承擔。反之,費用將由有關請求者支付。請求者最遲須於股東週年大會前7日隨該要求支付或繳交一筆合理地足以應付本公司所需的費用。

2. 股東提名人選參選董事的程序
倘任何股東有意提名本公司董事(「董事」)以外人士參選董事,則該股東須將有關書面通知(「該通知」)送達本公司於香港的主要營業地點,地址為香港中環皇后大道中9號6樓H室,或本公司的股份過戶登記分處卓佳證券登記有限公司,地址為香港皇后大道東183號合和中心22樓,註明收件人為本公司秘書。

該通知須載明有關股東的名稱及其持股量、獲提名參選董事的人士的全名,包括按上市規則第13.51(2)條的規定而須披露的該人士履歷詳情,並(除將獲提名人士外)由有關股東簽署。該通知亦須隨附經獲提名參選人士簽署表示其願意參選董事的同意書。

呈交該通知的期間由不早於本公司寄發委任選舉本公司董事的股東大會通告翌日起至不遲於該股東大會日期前7日止。倘該通知在股東大會前少於15日接獲,本公司將需考慮押後股東大會,以給予股東14日提議通知。

該通知將於本公司股份過戶登記分處進行核實,而於確認要求為適當及符合程序時,本公司的公司秘書將要求本公司提名委員會及本公司董事會考慮將建議有關人士參選董事的決議案納入股東大會議程

3. 股東召開股東大會(「股東大會」)的程序
規定
佔有權於股東大會上投票的全體股東的總投票權最少5%的股東,可向本公司發出書面要求召開股東大會,地址為本公司註冊辦事處香港皇后大道中9號6樓H室,註明收件人為公司秘書。

程序
書面要求:
- 須註明將於大會上處理的事務的一般性質;

- 可包括可正式動議並擬於大會上動議的決議案全文;

- 須由請求者簽署,並可由一式多份(每份由一名或多於一名請求者簽署)的文件組成。
該請求將於本公司股份過戶登記處進行核實,而於確認書面要求適當及符合程序時,公司秘書將要求董事會根據法定要求向所有登記股東發出充份通知,藉以召開股東大會。反之,倘書面要求經核實為不符合程序,則請求者將獲告知該結果,亦因此將不會按要求召開股東大會。
倘於要求送交後21日內,本公司董事並無正式召開將於召開股東大會的通告發出當日起計不超過28日舉行的股東大會,則請求者本身或佔彼等所持全部投票權一半以上的任何請求者可自行召開大會, 惟按此方式召開的任何大會不得於原先請求之日起三個月屆滿後舉行。
通知期
就考慮請求者於股東大會上所提出提議向全體登記股東的通知期如下:

足14日或足10個營業日書面通知(以較長者為準)。 如果提名在會議通知發出後收到, 10個工作日的要求則可能不會適用;在我們所見的情況下,情況並非如此。

此外,公司需要至少提前28天以書面形式通知公司,以擬通過決議,並要求根據《公司條例》處理特別通知。

4. 聯絡詳情
股東可將藉致函至以下地址透過公司秘書向本公司提出查詢及關注:

香港皇后大道中9號6樓H室鐵江現貨有限公司

公司秘書
公司秘書將向適當人士或行政人員轉交信息。